Feb 24, 2012

I got a new bow!

One of the best parts of being a writer is research. I love immersing myself in scientific studies and nonfiction books. On my shelf right now, I have the following titles:

Dinner with a Cannibal (surprisingly, a good book)
Wildwood Wisdom
Medieval Lives
Medieval Warfare
The Survival Instinct
Radical Evolution

I honestly would be thrilled if I could read non-fiction for hours out of every day.

Some research is more hands on. A walk in the woods. A sketch of a city. Or archery lessons.

Now that is fun. Yesterday I treated myself to a new bow. You'll see it here. Isn't she a beauty?

Thanks to Wayne over at Archery Only. You're awesome!

Feb 17, 2012

Spring Appearances & UTNS Updates!

Copies of the gorgeous UK version of UTNS arrived!
They're stunning! Thank you, ATOM Books!
Crawling out of the revision cave for a quick update! UNDER THE NEVER SKY is out there and going strong. I’m thrilled by the feedback I’m getting from readers. Thank you! I’ve been touring and writing Book Two, so I haven’t had much time for… much… (I’ve been spending A LOT of time alone and my brain is doing funny things - you’ve been warned) but here are a few things I’d like to share:

GOOD NEWS! - UNDER THE NEVER SKY was listed as a Top Ten YA Fantasy Must Read in the Huffington Post! And, and, and--I'm so excited--it also made the #2 spot for ABA's Spring 2012 Kids Indie Next List!  So amazing. To think this story started with scribbles on a notebook...

BOOK TOUR - I’ve already completed one tour leg and soon I’ll have… another leg. (Told you the old synapses are off) Check out upcoming tour stops and appearances here, or over at Spring Into The Future. 

WONDERCON - In addition to the tour stops above, I’ll be on a panel with some amazing authors at WonderCon in March. Check out this list: Kami Garcia, Gretchen McNeil, Andrea Cremer, Ransom Riggs, Lissa Price, Ann Aguirre. Guys, to think that my name goes anywhere near the same sentence as this crew is... I dunno. It makes my head explode with pride. I will also be signing books there with my tour-mate and all-around adorable person Tahereh Mafi. I'd love to see you there!

Finally, I have something fun in the works for fans of Aria and Perry. I'll be able to say more soon, but trust me... you won't want to miss this!

The daily chaos.

Happy weekend~!

Feb 1, 2012

Spanish Cover Reveal!

Check out the gorgeous Spanish cover for Under The Never Sky! I love the silhouette effect! For a peek at other international covers, head over to the UNDER THE NEVER SKY page and scroll down.

What do you think?